#14 On the fourth day of Christmas…

OK, so it may not be four calling birds and this blog may have been more appropriate on the sixth day of Christmas (when geese are actually supposed to be a-laying), but I was just so keen to show you all the latest Christmas card in this year’s collection.

image

On a musical note, I think the ribbon complements the ‘Noel’ message backstitched on to the canvas itself well, and I finished-off with the traditional tartan ribbon that’s now a staple in all my Christmas décor designs.

And, as with every project – big and small – this piece informs my next. I think I’ll carry the seasonal sentiments forward by backstitching (where space permits) on the canvas. I have a bounty of spare skeins crying out for some festive attention and it’ll make the cards even more personable.

image

I’m yet to decide this little guy’s final destination, but I know wherever he goes he’ll make someone very happy.

While I’m here, I thought I might give you a sneak peak at our Christmas tree. This year’s effort has been somewhat enhanced by the many decorations that Mr Xstitch and I picked up on our travels in Germany this year. With this in mind, I thoroughly recommend a trip to a good Weihnachtsmarkt any time you’re lucky enough to visit Deutschland.

image

I must say, I am in love with this tree, but reading all your lovely posts in recent weeks has inspired me to make 2015 the year of the cross stitched Christmas – hopefully that’ll include some decorations and maybe even a cheeky advent calendar to pop 24 treats in for Mr XStitch and his sweet tooth.

Happy crafting.

J x

4 thoughts on “#14 On the fourth day of Christmas…

    • Thanks so much, this is the first year I’ve actually put together cards like this and I’m pleased with the results. You’ll have to post some pictures of your cards when you’ve completed them.

      I love Germany, without a doubt my favourite country, and spending time over there at Christmas is the best way to inspire Christmas cheer! 🙂

      Like

      • I have taken some photos – just need to get round to writing the blog post! I did post pictures of a few completed designs before actually makig them up into cards.

        Like

Leave a Reply

