#23 Cross stitch magazines: a blessing and a curse

Much like I was to blogging, I seem to have been pretty late to the fold when it comes to the cross stich magazine.

In the space of a month I’ve gone from being completely oblivious to their merits and popularity to having an annual subscription to The World of Cross Stitching (TWOCS) and being frightfully close to ordering several hundred back issues of Cross Stitch Crazy in a bid to get my fix.

image

And while the prospect of curling up in bed with a cup of tea and flicking through page after page of patterns after work is beyond tempting, it does hinder my progress and heighten my procrastination levels on my current WIP (#22).

So, if I’m going to read them I thought I might as well write about them: share my views on why I’ve come to love and less-love about these monthly nuggets of knowledge.

  1. LOVE: The patterns – if I had known you receive so many free patterns per issue I would have signed-up months ago. Fairies, robots (see this sampler from the December issue of TWOCS) and even glow-in-the-dark canvas – anything your heart and hands could desire. The only problem is where to begin.
  2. LOVE: The inspiration – picking up any issue and being greeted by the friendly ‘meet the designer’ feature makes me want to have a go myself. Reading the articles and exploring the different designs sparks another level of creativity within me and add this skill to my bow.
  3. LOVE: Finding new designers ­­– you can’t go wrong with an anchor, DMC or even a Bothy Threads pattern but the more I read these magazines, the more I fall in love with independent designers. Without this platform I would never have come across Durene Jones and her charming collection of birdie designs (below) or Lucie Heaton’s booklet of little treasures.

image

The only thing I less-than-love – apologies for the appalling lexis – about these magazines so far (and believe me I had to dig deep) is that it’s made me want to be a selfish little stitcher. 2014 and the majority of 2015 have and will be about cross stitch gifts for various family and friends, so I’ve decided that 2016 is going to be for me.

And, yes, I know I’m probably not going to stick to it, but it would be oh-so-nice to be able to pick up a pattern as soon as I see it and finish it for me.

So thanks, magazines, for highlighting the hundreds of amazing cross stitch patterns out there for the sewing and how there aren’t enough hours in the day to finish them.

There’s such a thing as a cross stitch sabbatical, right?

J x

5 thoughts on “#23 Cross stitch magazines: a blessing and a curse

Leave a Reply

