#28 Sewing, Stitching & Hobbycrafts event

Today was a special Saturday spent at the Sewing, Stitching and Hobbycrafts event in Manchester.

Exhibitors and enthusiasts alike came together to share hints, tips, demos and bargains in a bid to inspire the next wave of creative endeavours and new generation of crafters.

As you might expect I was most excited to see the cross stitch exhibitors. And they didn’t disappoint. My favourites included Black Sheep Wools, Craft Lines of Essex and Trudy Anne Designs.

I came away with a bounty of card making supplies and cross stitch plethora (the Bengal bundle of fluff I already owned!)

image

The two Christmas designs are by Ursula Marshall, a designer I’ve not come across before but will definitely be looking into. All her pieces were fantastic and drew inspiration from words, phrases and sayings to create a pictorial image. Trudy Anne Designs were exhibiting these patterns (£6.25 each) among others that required beads and other embellishments. Again something I think to be a little different but incredibly effective.

If you’re on the look out for new haberdashery trends, I think lettering and embellishments will continue to rise in popularity in 2015.

The shells and starfish pattern is one I’ve had my eye on for a while. It was only £12.99 so I decided to treat myself to the detailed Dimensions kit.

I also picked up a couple of card & envelope packs, well, because a crafter can never have enough.

I took a few photographs when navigating myself through the crowds:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And if this wasn’t great enough – there was a cake convention next door. Mr Xstitch was now fully onboard with the day.

The best aspect to this side of the event was a cake decorating competition. It blows my mind just how talented people can be in this world. Take a look at these beauties…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’re interested in attending this event or one similar, I’ve very much recommend the trip.

Get those creative craft juices flowing…

J x

 

4 thoughts on “#28 Sewing, Stitching & Hobbycrafts event

  1. I would love to go to a stitching and hobbycrafts event here in the states. I must look up details and see if there is one near me sometime. Love all of your new stash! Sounds like you had a great time. That cake is gorgeous!! I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I am still working on my post, but it should be up in a bit 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

