#46 One cross stitcher’s gift to herself

As any cross stitcher, or indeed, crafter, will tell you, we rarely complete projects for ourselves.

Whether it’s quilting or card making, cross stitching or knitting, our projects usually find their forever homes in those of others.

So when you finally do make something for yourself, it can be an alien sensation.

Like yesterday.

Mr XStitch very kindly offered to have one of my first and favourite cross stitches framed for my birthday, to be displayed in our house.

image

It’s our Bengal Bundle of Fluff.

And it looks lovely, even if I do say so myself.image

I don’t think I’ll be hanging up my gift-giving hat any time in the near future, but I’m so pleased that I’ve finally got one of my pieces professionally framed and finished, especially when it means as much to me as it does.

Tell me…what projects have you finished for yourself?

Comments below, please!

J x

10 thoughts on “#46 One cross stitcher’s gift to herself

  1. I have 1 piece hanging in our bedroom. It is ‘Lest We Forget’ by Country Threads. That was the first piece I finished when I got back into cross stitch. I have given so many gifts that I haven’t finished anything else for myself. I will hopefully finish our wedding sampler next year….I was hoping to have it done for our 1st wedding anniversary….but we are rapidly approaching the second!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I find it interesting the idea of crafting things for others instead of ones self. Can’t say I feel that way about cross stitching. Other hobbies sure, but not cross stitching. I see a pattern I want usually and think how fantastic it would be to have it framed when done. Hmm…then again I do have a stitch I finished and haven’t framed and it would make a good gift? You got me thinking now Jenna.

    Like

    • I have so many patterns stored away for when I have the time to get around to doing them for myself, but I usually find that before I get to it, there’s a birthday, wedding or christening that I just have to put something together for.

      Now I have one in the house, it’s only a matter of time before I have another and an0ther… 🙂

      Like

  3. I probably stitch half for me half for gifts. I have only ever had one piece framed professionally and that was At Our House by Lizzie Kate and I framed a Titanic piece myself, and it is kind of poorly framed but does the trick. I also have been making standing cubes lately and I have one of those in my house. You kitty looks great hanging above the mantle!!

    Like

    • I’m so surprised by how many of us stitchers have said the same, Khristine! I’m definitely going to take more time to appreciate and make kits I want for myself – I think it’s good to help keep the passion for the hobby alive… well that’s what I’m telling myself!

      Thank you, I’m pretty pleased with her. I’ve lifted up the actual Bengal Bundle of Fluff to show her the portrait, but she doesn’t seem that impressed…

      J

      Like

  4. This is very true! Always creating for others 🙂 I only have 2 completed quilts for myself…which really belong to the cats. But I do have 3 UFO quilts that will also be my own when they ever get completed. Your framed xstitch looks great! Compliments your mantel very well!

    I found a small xstitch for a Christmas Card attempt…but decided instead to use it as a quilt label for my Christmas Quilt that I’m working on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Christine, thanks for your comment. So true, we rarely stitch and sew for ourselves – roll on 2016!

      I’ve got a post in the pipeline to show off my Christmas cards for charity bundle I’ve been working on over the past few weeks. I’ve made 25 so far, all slightly different! J x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

