#48 Stitched, sealed and (ready to be) delivered

Regular readers of Life’s Complicated So Cross Stitch might remember that back in September, I posted a blog about my plan to create cross stitched Christmas cards and sell them for charity, in memory of my Mum’s good friend, Tracey, and indeed all the loved ones I’ve sadly lost over the years to Cancer.

Well, I’m pleased to say that I’ve passed my mission.

Since the middle of September I’ve made and packaged 30 truly unique cards to be sold over the coming weeks.

From Rudolf and Santa hat wearing scotty dogs, to snow-scapes and fairies, I’ve collated my favourite Christmas designs either bought or free in magazines, and made up this selection of festive fancies.

Pick a favourite, you ask? I couldn’t possibly! Twist my arm, and it might just have to be the snow covered house designs…

Snow on the rooftops

image

Behind the scenes:

To create 30 Christmas cards might not, at first, sound like that arduous a task – I too, thought it sounded easier in principle than it turned out to be in practice.

There were often times when I didn’t feel like cross stitching, a feeling I’m sure we’ve all come across over our crafting years, and other times I didn’t want to get out all my ribbons and embellishments to make up the cards.

To counter this, I found it easier and more fun to work in stages; a one-woman production line if you will.

I would usually make up around 7-10 completed cross stitches over the course of a week or two and then have a little card making session.

Not only did this help to keep the experience fun and varied, but it meant that I was able to keep my inspiration, ensuring they were all different.

Another tip is to have fun when collecting your different bits and bobs.

I went to a stitching and sewing exhibition to pick up all my ribbons and took a trip to Hobby Craft for my wooden embellishments. I kept the colours suitably simple and seasonal to make sure all tied into the same sort of theme, but different enough so the cards all had their own signature style.

I picked up a ‘stitched with love’ stamp for the back of the card to give it the personal touch, and finished off the packaging buy using clear cellophane for a professional finish, and included a little slip saying:

Thank you for buying me.

Every penny spent on me is being donated to Cancer Research UK, to give a little something back to those who have lost.

Merry Christmas.”

I popped a Christmas sticker on the back of the packaging and there you have it.

image

I’m looking forward to seeing what family and friends make of the cards and, if all goes well, may make the project an annual occurrence.

A good deed well done.

J x

7 thoughts on “#48 Stitched, sealed and (ready to be) delivered

    • Thank you Claire. I’ve lost too many
      to this awful disease. I just wanted to give a little back to those who tried to help. X

      Like

  1. When you started this I thought it’d take you quite some time to finish. I’m happy to hear you are! I think you completed your task faster than you might think. They’re so cute too. It would be wonderful if the outcome of selling them goes well because it should be an annual thing. Hehe (^_^).

    Like

    • Thank you very much.

      I have a couple of WIPs I’ve been working on for the past few months that I put on hold while I completed my cards. Fingers crossed that 2016 will be a year of finishes…

      I’d love to set myself another big challenge too, like Penelope’s blanket. I’ve my eye on an Heaven and Earth Designs pattern that I may indulge in in the new year! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment